Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions about Campy shifters

suhacycles is offline VSalonistas

Default Questions about Campy shifters

Thinking about getting Campy shifters for cross... just wondering about people's experiences with the latest Athena, Centaur and Veloce models. Are the internals interchangeable? Does the thumb shifter get in the way when wearing thick gloves? Durability? Stuff like that...

Thanks,
    HS

roseyscot is offline 2KClub

Default Re: Questions about Campy shifters

i've been riding nothing but campy for nearly 8 years now, including for cx. i have a few bikes with new generation hoods, though none with the powershi(f)t. i've never found them to be a problem, nor had issues with thick gloves. i commute through the winter, often wearing lobster claw type gloves, again, no issues.

ldamelio is offline VSalonistas

Centaur 10 for cross since 2007 on one bike. Even that, widely acknowledged to be crappiest modern Campagnolo, has been flawless. Current Centaur stuff much better. I also put well used (50,000 road miles) and well loved 2000 Chorus on another cross bike for this season. Easy to shift even with thick gloves. Zero problems, wouldn't hesitate.

fixednwinter is offline VSalonistas

Using 2011 Centaur on a road bike that can fit 27mm tires. So it's not a cross bike but I do use it on rough surfaces.

No issues, shifts reliably. Unlike Record or Chorus the thumb shifters on Centaur can only go down one ring/cog at a time, but it shifts quickly so it's not a disadvantage. The current hood shape is much more comfortable than the previous version.

Gloved operation is not a hassle. The firm clicks are easy to detect through gloves

blasdelf is offline VSalonistas

It's complicated, because they introduced a shitty version of the mechanism in the years before 11 speed came out, and then waffled back and forth on the practice.