Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: H Plus Son rims? Specifically, the Archetype

jwb96 is offline VSalonistas

Default H Plus Son rims? Specifically, the Archetype

I've been getting close to getting a set of HED Belgian C2 rims built up. But today, I stumbled across a PR release that H Plus Son was releasing a 23m wide x 25mm deep rim, the Archetype (Archetype | H PLUS SON).

I have no experience with H Plus Son. So was wondering if any one here, especially our resident wheelbuilders, has any feedback on them in general, and whether anyone has seen one of these rims yet. With some more googling, it seems like the fixed gear hipsters are the ones posting about HPS.

Thanks,
    Jim

Erik B is offline VSalonistas

Default Re: H Plus Son rims? Specifically, the Archetype

I have some SL42's on a bike. Front built easily enough and the guy that built the rear(PT) had nothing bad to say about them.
    They've stayed round and true under my fat ass.
    The brake tracks seemed nice enough, but the anodizing on them went away fairly quickly as I expected it would. Per usual the rims were a bit heavier than the claimed weights, and the two that I had varied a bit. I don't remember how significant it was in terms of the real world or even a percentage but it is something I remember.

The HED's Belgian C2's are also very nice rims that built up nicely for me on a pair Centaur hubs.

Britishbane is online now VSalonistas

Do a search. There was a thread not to long ago about Hplus Son rims. If I remember correctly the reviews were mixed, something about difficulties getting the rim to stay true.

suhacycles is offline VSalonistas

Not sure about the quality but that thick, rounded spoke bed looks like a smart idea for rims without eyelets.

jds108 is offline VSalonistas