Thread: Segmented Fork?

DanBailey is offline VSalonistas

Question Segmented Fork?

Fixin' to take a crack at a segmented fork. It's for a heavier rider (230 pounds). Using 7/8" .049 straight gauge (heavy rider, heavy fork, right?). I'm wondering if it doesn't make sense to drill a 7/8" hole through the steerer (1.125") and fillet braze a single cross-member through it. Yeah, I know, I've heard the warnings about punching holes in steerer tubes.

At the same time, it's .049" wall tubing. Pretty heavy shit. And it's not like I'm not adding more material back, right?

On the other hand, I'd prefer not to kill the user of the bike, either.

I come to you, VS, for thoughts and advice.
    Dan Bailey
    Owner/Fabricator
    Pallas Athena Custom Bicycles
    www.athenabikes.com

Andrew R Stewart is offline VSalonistas

Default Re: Segmented Fork?

I'm no engineer but 7/8" diameter for the crown piece sounds small. And why you'd drill through the steerer?

Check the archives for "segmented fork failure".

My thought would be to internally sleeve the steerer, use a 1 1/4'x.058 crown piece and consider how to reinforce the top end of the blades. You probably know that a segmented fork will be heavier then a traditionally crowned one so the reason to do one is style. Or is there some other reason that we don't know of yet. Andy.
    Andy Stewart
    10%

afwalker is offline VSalonistas

welding looks better if it starts out cleaned | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
    this is 1.125" 0.058 4130 on the 1.125 steerer. It's going to be plenty strong.
    I overbuild this segmented fork with 1" legs 0.045 in some 1.125 0.058 sleeves.
    cheers
    andy walker

afwalker is offline VSalonistas

I'm thinking also 7/8" is kind of smallish to resist torsional loads.
    1 or 1 1/8" seem better.
    The drill through is interesting, but we sure do miter and join tubes together and they seem to hold up fine.
    cheers
    andy walker

Eric Estlund is offline VSalonistas